Bicyclist killed in hit-and-run crash near Windsor

From the Coloradoan


A 46-year-old male bicyclist died Saturday from injuries sustained in a hit-and-run crash near Windsor, according to the Colorado State Patrol.

State troopers responded to a report of a crash involving a vehicle and a bicyclist on the frontage road off Interstate 25 near Colorado Highway 392 around 5:30 p.m. Saturday, according to CSP Trooper Josh Lewis.

News Item: 

16 Comments

I feel mandatory sentences

I feel mandatory sentences like those for drugs would be effective as a dererant for poor driving, but agree that enforcement, education, and retesting are also needed. I disagree with our drug policy, but not with the idea of minimum sentences that require poor drivers to stop driving for a year or more. It would illustrate the dependence we have on the automobile, and force bad drivers out of their cars to experience why they should not take driving privileges for granted.

It never ceases to amaze me

It never ceases to amaze me the level ignorance of people, manly by those that just sit on their ass and make judgment purely through speculation without knowing facts.

The cyclist killed was Ernesto Wiedenbrug

Colorado Hit and Run Criminal Penalties

If the accident only involves property damage:
It is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and $1,000 in fines.

If the accident causes injury to someone:
It is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 18 months in jail and $5,000 in fines.

If the accident causes serious bodily injury to someone:

It is a Class 5 felony punishable by 1 to 3 years in prison and fines reaching $500,000.

If the accident results in a death:

It is a Class 3 felony punishable by 4 to 12 years in prison and fines reaching $750,000.

are you suggesting that those

are you suggesting that those statutes mean that, even if you weren't at fault, if you run you're now at fault for the accident itself? While you didn't post it, I'd bet there is a provision that for those penalties to apply, you must first be at fault for the accident itself. Then, the penalties escalate because you ran.

Running is the crime

(In a hit and run. I'm not dissing triathletes.)

(1) The driver of any vehicle directly involved in an accident resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close to the scene as possible . . .(2) Any person who violates any provision of this section commits:
(a) A class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense if the accident resulted in injury to any person;
(b) A class 4 felony if the accident resulted in serious bodily injury to any person;
(c) A class 3 felony if the accident resulted in the death of any person.

It doesn't matter whether the driver "caused" the accident or not.

Pages